7th, 8th December 2019

Peak Hour of Power

BATHURST Champions Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander will be joined by a host of Formula 1 machinery in leading a parade of amazing and desirable vehicles through Adelaide's city streets this December.

Up to 16 racing cars and bikes will be driven under police escort from the Adelaide Motorsport Festival precinct in Victoria Park to the annual Gouger Street Party on the evening of Friday, 8 December.

The Friday night Gouger Street event is an annual tradition that sees the stars and cars of the Adelaide Rally regroup on the well-known restaurant strip, to be displayed for several hours amongst a festival of food, drink and entertainment on Friday evening.

Lowndes will drive a stunning and hyper-rare 2007 Ferrari FXX, while Tander will be behind the wheel of the prototype Super5000 open wheeler.

Both will be on show and on track at the Adelaide Motorsport Festival across the December 9-10 weekend, with Lowndes to drive the V12-powered FXX as part of the Ferrari 'Spetacollo' demonstration that will celebrate 70 years of the prancing horse brand.

Fellow Supercar stars Tim Slade (1994 Arrows) and Cameron Waters (1986 Benneton) will drive Formula 1 machinery, while Nick Percat will demonstrate McLaren's latest 720S supercar. Troy Bayliss will ride a World Superbike-specification Ducati Superbike and will be joined by a host of other classic Formula 1, race and road-going machinery that will either be participating in, or on display at the Adelaide Motorsport Festival this year.

Cars will leave Victoria Park via Wakefield Street at 5:45pm on Friday evening, driving through the middle of Victoria Square and looping around via Morphett Street to join the festivities on Gouger Street. 

The parade includes:

  • 2007 Ferrari FXX - driver Craig Lowndes
  • 2000 Arrows A21 Formula One - driver Josh Kean
  • 1986 BMW Benetton Formula One - driver Cameron Waters
  • 1994 Arrows FA 15 Formula One - driver Tim Slade
  • 1988 Larrousse Formula One - driver Brenton Griguol
  • 1989 Dallara Formula One
  • 2017 Super 5000 - driver Garth Tander
  • 1974 March Formula One
  • 1967 Brabham BT21 B
  • 2015 Ducati Superbike - rider Troy Bayliss
  • 1990 Ford Sierra Group A
  • 1985 Ferrari F40
  • 2009 Ferrari 599XX
  • 1978 Mercedes 450 Historic Sports Sedan
  • 2017 McLaren 675LT - driver Nick Percat
  • 2012 Toyota WTF86 - driver Todd Hazelwood

Click here for more information about Peak Hour of Power.

Back to news

Join Our Newsletter


132,856 HP Entrant vehicles combined estimated hp
42.57 sec Victoria Park sprint lap record
839 cars Took part in the 2018 event
47,107 Total attendance in 2018